Eddi Reader - Cavalier

2018 studio album

Cavalier - Eddi Reader

the bright young folk review

Marking 40 years as a live performer, the former Fairground Attraction singer and celebrated solo artist, Eddi Reader, releases a brand new studio album. Featuring an impressive sixteen songs Cavalier comprises traditional material, her own compositions (along with some from her co-producer, John Douglas) in addition to a couple of covers.

There are some lovely arrangements of traditional songs on the album but, sound-wise, it doesn’t narrowly confine itself to what we have come to regard as folk. From Maiden’s Lament with its laid-back, jazzy clarinet; to the title track, Cavalier, with its slightly funky, slightly indie-ish feel; to Starlight, with its 1950s doo-wop-style harmonies, there’s a wonderful array of sounds and musical influences across the ages here. Of course, the album is not without its more mainstream folk moments either, with tracks like Meg O’ The Glen, based on extracts from the poems of the 18th century Paisley-born poet, Robert Tannahill, which contains some deliciously infectious fiddle.

Reader’s gentle but superbly expressive vocals and her distinctive Scottish lilt are the common thread throughout the album, but it’s also all held together with a talented cast of supporting musicians, some twenty-five in total, through strings and brass and whistle and flute, not to mention five excellent additional backing vocalists.

Cavalier contains some beautiful interpretations of traditional songs and some folk-influenced singer song-writing yet at the same time it is so much more than a folk album. File under ’F’ for fascinating.

Darren Johnson

Released 28th September 2018 on Reveal Records

1. Maiden’s Lament (An Charraig Donn)
2. Wonderful
3. Cavalier
4. Starlight
5. Meg O’ The Glen
6. Brenda Stubbert’s Reel
7. Deirdre’s Farewell To Scotland
8. Fishing
9. Maid O’ The Loch
10. There’s A Hole In The Desert Dear Darling
11. A Sailor’s Farewell To The Sea
12. Old Song
13. The Loch Tay Boat Song
14. Pangur Bán And The Primrose Lass
15. Go Wisely
16. A Man’s A Man For A’ That

Eddi Reader discography