Éamonn Coyne & Kris Drever - Storymap

2013 studio album

Storymap - Éamonn Coyne & Kris Drever

the bright young folk review

Éamonn Coyne & Kris Drever’s latest collaboration is a perfectly balanced album of rousing tune sets interspersed with gentler tunes and songs. Each track is arranged with precision and played with incredible musicianship whilst also featuring an impressive selection of guests.

The opening track, Ceapaval eases the listener into the album with a rousing tune set, which is followed by Farewell to Stromness, a song collected by the Orkney Song Project. Eliza Carthy’s unmistakable, rich voice adds a beautiful harmony to Kris Drever’s lead vocals.

Éamonn’s banjo leads Marches and Reels, a set of tunes which drives forward to a rousing finish that is guaranteed to have you tapping along. Alan Bradley’s fiddle playing features on this track, blending perfectly with the banjo as the tunes gather pace and energy.

Megan Henderson also joins Éamonn and Kris on this album, playing both fiddle and harmonium, the latter adding a particularly beautiful colour to Isle of France. Teddy Bears Picnic Jigs bring the album to a lively finish that makes you want to skip straight back to track one and start again.

Storymap is a true gem of an album, at the heart of which is collaboration and tradition. There is nothing brash or bold about the music, and the carefully constructed arrangements give the feeling of an informal session amongst friends as each musician brings their own personality and musical style to form this wonderful album.

Lizzi Michael

Released 4th February 2013 on Reveal Records

1. Ceapaval
2. Farewell to Stromness
3. Marches and Reels
4. Goat Walk
5. Isle of France
6. Kitty O’Neil’s Champion Jig
7. May Morning Dew
8. Pot Luck
9. Teddy Bear’s Picnic Jigs

Éamonn Coyne & Kris Drever discography