Chris Newman & Máire Ní Chathasaigh - Christmas Lights

2013 studio album

Christmas Lights - Chris Newman & Máire Ní Chathasaigh

the bright young folk review

Christmas Lights is a seasonal release from well-regarded duo Chris Newman & Máire Ní Chathasaigh. The album is based on instrumentals and built upon some fine playing of the acoustic guitar and harp. All the tracks are carols from a range of nations and many of the traditional Christmas favourites are featured.

At its best, Christmas Lights provides subtle and understated instrumental versions of Christmas classics, some in a medieval style (for example, Coventry Carol) with others spinning out into other genres, such as the rather jazzy interpretation of Ding Dong Merrily on High. The album provides good mood music for the season although a few of the tracks don’t quite stand out from the crowd.

This is an album that will work well providing a musical background to Christmas celebrations rather than demanding to be the centre of attention.

Mike Hough

Released on Old Bridge Music on 2 December 2013.

1. The Holly and the Ivy
2. Three Ships from Sussex
3. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
4. Campana Sobre Campana
5. O Come all ye Faithful
6. Past Three O’Clock
7. O Little Town of Bethlehem
8. The Coventry Carol
9. Away in a Manger
10. Il est ne le Divin Enfant
11. We Three Kings
12. Once in Royal David’s City
13. Do’n Oiche Ud i mBethil
14. The First Tree in the Greenwood
15. Infant Holy
16. Ding Dong Merrily on High

Chris Newman & Máire Ní Chathasaigh discography